Trapped

I wake up in a cold, dark, musty and wet room. I have no idea where I am or how I got here. I can hear the wind howling into this room through the crack in the cement walls but it’s the only sound I hear.  I get up and try to feel around the room, trying to find a door to get out of here because by now I’m panicking and my heart is racing.  I can’t help but wonder if I’m about to die.

Suddenly, I see a light come in through a crack in the wall behind me.  The stream of light gets bigger and brighter with every second.  A door creeks open and I see the shadow of a tall figure. I cannot tell if this person is a man or a woman they just raise their hand and signal for me to walk toward them. I stop where I am and my mind begins to think of all the horrible possibilities that could be about to happen to me. I refocus and make myself think about being rescued or somehow saved by this unknown figure.  Cautiously, I take one step forward and then another. With the second step, I fall into a hole and,  I am all of a sudden falling and falling unable to land.

I wake up at home in my own bed, the sun is shining through my window. I’m covered in sweat. I notice my heart is racing. I can barely breathe. I get out of my bed and open my bedroom door to the smell of breakfast. I realized that the cold, wet, dark room was only a dream. I am home safe and sound and the dream never happened. It’s amazing how life-like and scary our dreams can be, especially because we cannot control what, when or how we dream.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

